The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Ohio University
   
 
  Aug 17, 2017
 
 
    
Skip Navigation
OHIO University Undergraduate Catalog 2017-18

Academic Advising


Each college, school, and department has faculty and/or professional advisors who will listen to students and provide appropriate information about academic options, degree programs, and University resources. Academic advisors are interested in student learning and development and will help create educational plans consistent with academic, career, and personal goals. Advisors will also assist students with the preparation of an appropriate schedule each semester. However, advising is a collaborative process. It is the student’s responsibility to be prepared for advising appointments and to know and follow current procedures at the department, school, college, and university levels.

For Best Results, Prepare for Advising Appointments

While course registration is important, it is just one piece of academic advising. In order to have the most meaningful and productive conversation not only about course registration, but also the many opportunities available to enhance an Ohio University degree, students should do the following:

  • Refresh the DARS (Degree Audit Reporting System) report in My OHIO Student Center by clicking on the Advising Center link in the right-hand column under Student Services Links.  Read through the DARS report, and work to understand what courses are needed to complete the degree and what requirements have been met. For more information about how to read a DARS, click here. Be prepared to view the DARS report on a laptop or take at least one copy of a refreshed DARS report to advising appointments.
  • Read about majors in the catalog to understand the requirements for the intended degree.
  • Examine Course Offerings for the upcoming semester to be aware of available courses.
  • Write a list of questions to ask the advisor. Ask things like:
  1. When do you think I will graduate at this pace?
  2. What campus resources are available to help me reach my academic potential?
  3. What things should I be doing outside of class to contribute to my career success?

Questions like these will help expand the advising conversation to include both short- and long-term academic, career, and personal goals.

How Often Should I Meet with My Academic Advisor?

Students should meet with their advisor at least once per term. Although meeting with an advisor before registration each semester is important, this is not the only time meetings are recommended. Advisors can help students gather information about the field(s) they are considering and can direct students to helpful university resources. Students struggling with coursework or who are considering changing their schedule, should contact their academic advisor.

How Do I Find My Academic Advisor?

Advisor name and contact information is available in My OHIO Student Center. Advisors will be listed in the column on the right side of the screen. Questions about academic advising or how to contact an academic advisor should be directed to the advising coordinator for the program (listed below), or the college or regional campus student services offices.

How to Find Advising if You Change Your Major

Students considering changing their major should take several steps:

  • Use the “What-if” DARS feature in My OHIO Student Center to look at the course work as it relates to the majors under consideration.
  • Read about other majors in the catalog. Students who feel sure about the major they want to pursue should make an appointment with an advisor in the new major by contacting the advising coordinator listed below.
  • Students who are uncertain about the major they want to pursue should make an appointment with an advisor in the Allen Student Advising Center.

Advising Holds

An advising hold will be placed on student records each semester to prevent registration for the next semester until the student has met with their academic advisor. The advising hold is released by the assigned academic advisors after students meet with them. It is NOT recommended that a student ask to have this hold lifted without meeting with their advisor because doing so means the student is registering without the guidance of a professional who will ensure that the student is making progress toward their degree goals. While some advisors do not require a meeting to remove a hold, it is in your best interest to request one!

Advising from Unofficial Sources: Consider but do not Follow!

There are many people on and off campus who believe they understand the Ohio University curriculum and how to read a DARS. Students should not rely solely on advice from peer mentors, siblings, parents, and friends. Unless someone can view a student’s record in the Faculty and Advising Center, view a DARS report to track progress, and leave a note to document the conversation, they are not an official advisor. Opinions from others are welcome, but please only follow advice from official advisors. Failing to consult with an official advisor could result in incorrect course selection, missing requirements, and/or delayed graduation.

Advisee Expectations

  • Meet with the academic advisor at least once each semester.
  • Make appointments for advising via phone, email, or office hour sign-up sheets during mutually agreed-upon advising times.
  • Keep appointments promptly.
  • In unable to make a scheduled appointment, notify the advisor in advance.
  • Discuss academic and career-related needs and seek additional help from appropriate sources as suggested by the advisor.
  • Be prepared for the advising appointment by bringing appropriate materials and written questions; review the DARS report, check catalog degree requirements, consult course offerings, utilize the Schedule Planner to prepare tentative schedules.
  • Seek assistance in decision making rather than expect the academic advisor to make decisions.
  • Follow through with appropriate action after each advising session and consult with the academic advisor if critical decisions cannot be accomplished.
  • Evaluate advising sessions and give formal and informal feedback to the academic advisor.
  • Seek reassignment to another advisor if necessary.
  • Be aware of departmental major, college, and universitywide general education requirements.
  • Understand how to read and use a DARS report.

What if I Want to Change My Academic Advisor?

Students who are frustrated with the advising they receive, or who are having difficulty making contact with their advisor, should seek assistance in this order:

  • The Advising Coordinator for your major (see list below)
  • The College or Regional Campus Student Services Office
  • The Allen Student Advising Center, 740.566.8888

Students should work to understand and collaborate with their academic advisor and work with the resources above when they struggle to have a helpful working relationship. However, it is important to note that students may request a new advisor from their department office, should they feel a change in advisor assignments is critical.

OHIO Advising Coordinators by College and Major

 

ARTS & SCIENCES

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
African American Studies Akil Houston houstond@ohio.edu 740.593.1310 31 S. Court, Rm. 122
Anthropology Nancy Tatarek tatarek@ohio.edu 740.593.1378 Bentley Annex 149
Biological Sciences Ann LaComb lacomb@ohio.edu 740.593.0431 Irvine Hall 111
Biological Sciences Chris Schwirian schwiria@ohio.edu 740.593.9490 Irvine Hall 066
Chemistry & Biochemistry Lauren McMills mcmillsl@ohio.edu 740.593.1754 Clippinger 345
Classics & World Religions Neil Bernstein bernsten@ohio.edu 740.597.2107 Ellis Hall 210E
Economics Vahe Lskavyan lskavyan@ohio.edu 740.593.2040 Bentley Annex 321
English Beth Koonce kooncee@ohio.edu 740.593.2338 Ellis Hall 360
Environmental & Plant Biology Harvey Ballard ballardh@ohio.edu 740.593.4659 Porter Hall 406
Geography Geoff Buckley buckleg1@ohio.edu 740.593.9846 Clippinger 104
Geological Sciences Greg Nadon nadon@ohio.edu 740.593.4212 Clippinger 203
History Michele Clouse clousem@ohio.edu 740.593.4345 Bentley Annex 431
Linguistics David Bell belld@ohio.edu 740.593.4562 Gordy Hall 369
Mathematics Bob Klein kleinr@ohio.edu 740.593.1285 Morton Hall 315D
Modern Languages Ben Parrot parrot@ohio.edu 740.597.2727 Gordy Hall 240
Philosophy Al Lent lent@ohio.edu 740.593.4641 Ellis Hall 202
Physics & Astronomy David Tees tees@ohio.edu 740.593.1694 Clippinger 357A
Political Science Kathleen Sullivan sullivak@ohio.edu 740.593.4373 Bentley Annex 233
Prelaw Advising Larry Hayman hayman@ohio.edu 740.593.0835 Bentley Hall 001B
Psychology Susan Tice-Alicke tices@ohio.edu 740.597.2718 Porter Hall 261
Sociology Charlie Morgan morganc3@ohio.edu 740.593.1371 Bentley Annex 111
Women’s Studies Kim Little littlek@ohio.edu 740.593.4687 31 S. Court, Rm. 127

 

BUSINESS

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Accounting Mike Bila bila@ohio.edu 740.593.2000 Copeland Hall 214
Business Economics William Shambora shambora@ohio.edu 740.593.2043 Bentley Annex 357
Business Prelaw Sheree Lucas lucass@ohio.edu 740.593.2060 Copeland Hall 514C
International Business Denver Miller dmiller@ohio.edu 740.593.2021 Copeland Hall 609B
Entrepreneurship Sheree Lucas lucass@ohio.edu 740.593.2060 Copeland Hall 514C
Finance Andy Fodor fodora@ohio.edu 740.593.2055 Copeland Hall 514G
General Business Sheree Lucas lucass@ohio.edu 740.593.2060 Copeland Hall 514C
Management Sheree Lucas lucass@ohio.edu 740.593.2060 Copeland Hall 514C
Management Information Systems Thom Luce luce@ohio.edu 740.593.2058 Copeland Hall 514E
Marketing Chris Moberg moberg@ohio.edu 740.593.2030 Copeland Hall 614F
Sport Management Norm O’Reilly oreillyn@ohio.edu 740.593.9319 Copeland Hall 514A

 

CENTER FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDIES

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Global Studies Cat Cutcher cutcher@ohio.edu 740.597.2756 Yamada International House 213

 

COMMUNICATION, SCRIPPS COLLEGE OF

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
All Majors Greg Moeller moellerg@ohio.edu 740.593.0246 1st Floor, Leon Harris Student Center, Schoonover

 

EDUCATION, PATTON COLLEGE OF

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
All Majors Ben Forche forche@ohio.edu 740.593.4400 McCracken Hall 103

 

ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY, RUSS COLLEGE OF

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
All Majors Deb McAvoy mcavoy@ohio.edu 740.593.1475 1st Floor, Stocker Center

 

FINE ARTS

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Art+Design Rosemarie Basile basile@ohio.edu 740.593.4281 Seigfred Hall 528
Dance Travis Gatling gatling@ohio.edu 740.593.9357 Putnam Hall 105
General Maureen Wagner wagnerm@ohio.edu 740.593.1813 Jennings House
Music Matt James jamesm1@ohio.edu 740.593.0957 Glidden Hall 576
Student Success Advisor Traci Connor connort@ohio.edu 740.593.4268 Putnam Hall 102
Theater Merri Biechler biechler@ohio.edu 740.593.9355 Kantner Hall 307C

 

HEALTH SCIENCES & PROFESSIONS

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Athletic Training Kristine Ensign ensign@ohio.edu 740.593.9497 Grover Center E187
Child & Family Studies Jenny Chabot chabot@ohio.edu 740.593.4675 Grover Center W353
Communication Sciences & Disorders Chao-Yang Lee leec1@ohio.edu 740.593.0232 Grover Center W225
Community & Public Health Heather Harmon harmonh@ohio.edu 740.593.1000 Grover Center W333
Dietetics/Nutrition Deborah Murray murrayd1@ohio.edu 740.593.4498 Grover Center E152
Environmental Health Science Michele Morrone morrone@ohio.edu 740.593.4675 Grover Center W339
Exercise Physiology Sharon Rana rana@ohio.edu 740.593.9494 Grover Center E195
First-Year Advisor Betsy Kunstel kunstel@ohio.edu 740.593.9336 Grover Center W370
Health Services Administration Cory Cronin croninc@ohio.edu 740.593.0447 Grover Center W359
Health Services Administration Kristin Schuller schuller@ohio.edu 740.593.0528 Grover Center W333
Long-Term Health Care Administration Lisa Yehl yehl@ohio.edu 740.593.4675 Grover Center W325
Nursing Mary Beth Brown brownm8@ohio.edu 740.593.4494 Grover Center E365
Occupational Hygiene & Safety Tim Ryan ryant@ohio.edu 740.593.2134 Grover Center W355
Physical Therapy Janis Carnahan carnahan@ohio.edu 740.593.1214 Grover Center W290
Social Work Terry Cluse-Tolar cluse@ohio.edu 740.593.1291 Morton Hall 416
Student Success Advisor Katie Thomson thomsonc@ohio.edu 740.593.0584 Grover Center W370
Undecided - HSP Sara White whites2@ohio.edu 740.593.0581 Grover Center E187
Undecided - HSP Becky Zuspan zuspan@ohio.edu 740.593.9336 Grover Center W370
Intgrated Healthcare Studies Michael Kushnick kushnick@ohio.edu 740.593.0496 Grover Center W189

 

HONORS TUTORIAL COLLEGE

Degree Program or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
All Majors Cary Frith frith@ohio.edu 740.593.2496 35 Park Place

 

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Criminal Justice & Specialized Studies Julie Cohara cohara@ohio.edu 740.593.1935 Chubb Hall 140
Undecided/Undeclared Ebony Green greene2@ohio.edu 740.593.1935 Chubb Hall 140

 

CERTIFICATE OR MINOR ADVISING COORDINATORS

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Center for Law, Justice, & Culture Haley Duschinski duschins@ohio.edu 740.593.0823 Bentley Annex 131
Environmental Studies
(undergraduate certificate, last names A - L)
Cheryl Hanzel hanzel@ohio.edu 740.593.9358 The Ridges, Building 22, Room 119
Environmental Studies
(undergraduate certificate, last names M - Z)
Loraine McCosker mccosker@ohio.edu 740.593.0434 The Ridges, Building 22, room 206
Global Health Certificate Deb McBride mcbrided@ohio.edu 740.593.2359 Grover Center W118
Gerontology Certificate Program Brooke Hallowell hallowel@ohio.edu 740.593.1407 Grover Center W239

 

Other Helpful Advising Resources

eCampus

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
RN to BSN Mary Beth Brown brownm8@ohio.edu 740.593.4494 Grover Center E365
Customer Services Ben Forche forche@ohio.edu 740.593.4400 McCracken Hall 103
Intgrated Healthcare Studies Michael Kushnick kushnick@ohio.edu 740.593.0496 Grover Center W189
BS in Technical Operations Management (last names A - L) Justin Kish kishj@ohio.edu 740.593.9954 Haning Hall 241
BS in Technical Operations Management (last names M - Z) Sarah Blazier blaziers@ohio.edu 740.593.9752 Haning Hall 243
Other eCampus Majors (last names A, N, O, P, Q, T) Molly Cronin croninm@ohio.edu 740.597.2703 Haning Hall 235
Other eCampus Majors (last names B, C, V) Lisa Wiseman wisemanl@ohio.edu 740.593.2553 Haning Hall 237
Other eCampus Majors (last names D, H, I, J) Justin Kish kishj@ohio.edu 740.593.9954 Haning Hall 241
Other eCampus Majors (last names E, F, R, W, X, Z) Michael Rinaldi-Eichenberg rinaldim@ohio.edu 740.593.2917 Haning Hall 231
Other eCampus Majors (last names G, S, U) Sarah Blazier blaziers@ohio.edu 740.593.9752 Haning Hall 243
Other eCampus Majors (last names K, L, M, Y) Kyle McKenzie mckenzie@ohio.edu 740.597.3118 Haning Hall 239
Student Success Coordinator Ginny Cottrill cottrilv@ohio.edu 740.593.0018 Haning Hall 223

 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT & FACULTY SERVICES

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Interim Associate Director Jennifer Nisevich nisevich@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center
International Student Advisor Annie Dievendorf dievendo@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center
International Student Advisor Josh Gory gory@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center
International Student Advisor Kira Lawrence lawrenk1@ohio.edu 740.593.4330 Walter International Education Center

 

OFFICE OF GLOBAL OPPORTUNITIES

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Assistant Director Keely Davin davin@ohio.edu 740.593.1798 Walter International Education Center 213
Director Catherine Marshall marshalc@ohio.edu 740.593.4583 Walter International Education Center 215
Program Coordinator Kirsten Dabelko dabelkok@ohio.ed 740.593.9079 Walter International Education Center
Program Coordinator Cherita King kingc8@ohio.edu 740.597.2721 Walter International Education Center 023

 

REGIONAL CAMPUSES/CENTERS

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Chillicothe Campus Hilltopper Advising Center Christy Null nullc1@ohio.edu 740.774.7731 Bennett Hall 220
Eastern Campus Student Services Jennifer Kellner-Muscar kellner@ohio.edu 740.599.2536 Shannon Hall
Lancaster Campus Student Services       740.681.3311 Brasee Hall
Pickerington Center Phyllis Underwood underwop@ohio.edu 614.367.4102 Pickerington Center 106C
Southern Campus Student Success Center Robert Pleasant pleasanr@ohio.edu 740.533.4596 Collins Center
Zanesville Campus Dean’s Office Liesta Walker walkerl1@ohio.edu 740.588.1559 Elson Hall 116
Zanesville Campus Student Services Ray Rotella rotella@ohio.edu 740.588.1491 Elson Hall
Zanesville Campus Learning Advancement Center Jennifer Redrup redrup@ohio.edu 740.588.1510 Elson Hall 174

 

STUDENT SUCCESS ADVISORS

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Biological Sciences Melanie Tullett tullett@ohio.edu 740.593.2340 Irvine Hall
College of Business Sam Hollback hollback@ohio.edu 740.566.6479 Copeland Hall 214
Communication Studies Paula Linscott linscop1@ohio.edu 740.593.0020 Schoonover Center
HSP: Applied Health Sciences & Wellness Katie Thomson thomsonc@ohio.edu 740.593.0584 Grover Center, Dean’s Office
Engineering & Technology Julie Chiki frenchj@ohio.edu 740.593.1475 Stocker Center
College of Education Joy Cobb cobbj@ohio.edu 740.593.4443 McCracken Hall
College of Fine Arts (currently vacant)          

 

ADVISORS FOR SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

Major or Role First Name Last Name Email Phone Office Address
Arts and Sciences (A&S) Ohio Program of Intensive English/A&S International Academic Advisor Tanya Dovbnya dovbnya@ohio.edu 740.597.1543 Wilson Hall Admin 104A
Transfer & Relocate Lisa Flowers-Clements flowersl@ohio.edu 740.593.1935 Chubb Hall 140